What's new

Yet Another New Guy

I have been lurking for a while here and at other forums for quite a while. I decided to take the plunge kind of out of the blue. I have been shaving for many years with carts, disposables and electrics. My usual was to shave with a cart, M3 power and then some off brand five blade thing to fill whatever razor handle it was I had ,at the beginning of the week and using the electric the rest of the week. I did not shave on my days off from work unless there was some type of an event. My goal was to get in and out of the shave as quickly as possible because I hated every moment of it. I have never had problems with ingrowns or bumps really, but I would get quite a bit of burn on my neck and under my chin if the cart wasn't pretty new. The electric just tore me up if I tried to get close so I didn't really.

So I got to reading about this whole wet shaving business. I liked what I read so I went to eBay. I hadn't really ever used eBay so I was a bit unclear on the process. As a result I now own a 40's Gillette Super Speed ('47 apparently as there are no notches in the middle bar). a '57 SS flare tip and a Schick Krona. Meanwhile A Gillette Tech and a travel Tech are on their way to me.

I practiced wet shaving using cart, along with Bigalow menthol cream and a makeup brush that was suggested in one of the threads. I have to say the cart did not work well with the lather (kept getting clogged) and I was making a pretty terrible lather.

Finally the SS got here. After washing a bit of the gunk off, I filled it with a Shark Super Chrome and got down to business.

The First Shave