What's new

Wow! I never knew this world existed.

New guy here. I found this site though a link on a soap making forum that I frequent. A member over there is also a member here. He posted(quite a while back) about a shaving soap that he made that was a reversed engineered version of Martin de Candre soap(which I have never heard of) that another member here came up with. I've been making soap for 2-3 months, and when I saw that I thought "Heck yes I'm making some shaving soap!" Even though I didn't really know what shaving soap was. :001_smile

So I ordered up the required ingredients that I didn't have and I started doing a bit more research on the soap, which led me here. I never dreamt that there was a place where people were so passionate about shaving. After reading a few threads, it's obvious that there are a lot of really nice guys here.

So anyway, it looks like I'll be trying out this new world of wet shaving. I'm a bit embarrassed to tell you what my current process is(although it's probably the same as the vast majority of men). I'm just using the old can of cream and disposable razors. Lately I've been doing lots of research on soap making, and now it looks like I have more research to do with regard to shaving. Once I get my soap made, I'll let you know how it turns out. I look forward to "meeting" lots of you.

Welcome! Stop by my soap making thread in the shave soap forum and let me know what you think of my recipes and what you would change and or what you're doing currently. I would love to see your recipes also if they're not proprietary. I'm just openly posting all of my recipes that I have made so it helps all the members out here understand what ingredients their face prefers. Some have Tallow some have coconut oil some have lanolin or shea butter. Finding what works best for you is like a light bulb going off and I have to say that shaving will never be the same! Welcome to badgerandblade!