What's new

Stainless Steel: Friend or Foe??

Hello everyone, this is my second thread. First let me say I'm a complete beginner and have only shaved three times with my straight so any advice is good, you are the experts. I bought a Thiers Issard razor with stainless steel scales; I am not sure if this was a good idea or a bad one. Are there any pros and cons of using stainless steel scales??

P.S. I'm sorry if this was covered in another thread, I tried to search for it.

Cheers,
Arty

Pros - same as plastic/resin scales - no corrosion or water damage worries

Cons - may look like a medical instrument.

Really, there's no right or wrong, its all about personal taste.

Enjoy the razor, that's the most important thing.

Welcome to the site!

I agree with all Suzuki and jlander said I had a Dovo with the stainless scales it was very unbalanced to hold not so much to shave with but to strop or hone no matter how I held or angled it was just awkward, I had Bill Ellis rescale it with a set of his custom scales needless to say it is perfect now :biggrin:.

Right. The only obvious mistake you've made is to NOT post pictures of said razor. :confused: If I wanted threads without pictures I'd hang out in the shaving cream forum.

If you like the way the razor looks and handles that's all that is important - apart from posting pics for the rest of us that is.

Right. The only obvious mistake you've made is to NOT post pictures of said razor. :confused: If I wanted threads without pictures I'd hang out in the shaving cream forum.

If you like the way the razor looks and handles that's all that is important - apart from posting pics for the rest of us that is.

Hey, wait a second! Pics of shave cream are required as well!