What's new

Spend on the Hottop or save on the Behmor Coffee Roaster?

I drink a fair amount of coffee and use a number of different brew methods (pour over, french press, Aeropress, and a Bunn Trifecta). I usually buy locally roasted coffee, and also order a fair amount from a few mail order roasters, but for about a year now, I've been thinking about getting into home roasting. I've done my research, and know that I want to get a decent roaster off-the-bat, rather than doing the air popper route.

So here I stand, money in hand for the $800 Hottop, but my little shoulder angle keeps telling me that the Behmor is enough roaster for the likes of me and that I should use the extra money on green beans instead.

What say you Cafe, I'm open to any and all opinions.

Last edited:
Whoa, Just came across this post.

I have no experience with the Behmor.

I did buy a Hottop model B a few months ago as a "broken, needs fixing" purchase for very little and "restored" it adding a few modifications while I had it apart.

i only roast 1/2 lb (228 grams) of beans in a batch. That way I get an even break down and don't end up with a small orphan amount of green as I buy my beans by the pound.

since owning it, I have made maybe 40 roasts with it and each one helped me learn more and more. I keep records of every roast and then evaluate/comment about what I think so that I can go back and duplicate it again with the same beans.

I have been enjoying the Hottop and so far it has fit my needs perfectly. I can roast from light city (almost cinnamon) to Vienna and I am sure I could go beyond Vienna but I don't want a pan full of burnt taste and no coffee.

If you get the Hottop get the B model not the P model as the B is more of a manual roaster where you can modify the roast as it progress but the P model requires you to enter your program than it runs it without the fine tuning you can do with the B. And the B is less expensive.