What's new

Help me understand the need to bloom French Press coffee...

I don't get it. I can understand the idea in a manual drip but can't figure it out in a French press.

Watching the "experts" on videos, they pour a tiny amount of water on the grounds and wait 30 seconds or so, stir a little and then pour the rest of the water in. Wouldn't the coffee de-gas just fine if you filled the whole carafe all the way and skipped this step? It's not like a pour-over where the initial water drains out after the grounds are saturated. No matter when you add the water, the coffee stays in contact with the water the whole time.

I'm just getting into a FP after having one for years and hardly using it (except to make cold brew or Yerba Mate in which any pitcher could have worked). I just don't grasp this step of bloom with this type of device.

Any help would be nice. Thanks guys!

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I've been watching the same YouTuber videos and read James Hoffmann's book.. I've tried it both ways over the past few weeks.... I couldn't tell any difference... the thing had has made the coffee better for me has been only pushing the plunger in until the grinds gently touch the bottom of the glass... I had been pushing it all the way in.

I honestly don’t think I’ve ever bloomed with a French press. Like you I just can’t see the need. The only French press video I’ve ever watched is the Hoffman one and it’s been long enough ago that I can’t remember if he blooms or not, but if he does I probably tried it a few times and disregarded it like I have most of that method. I genuinely like watching James Hoffman videos and I’ve learned a ton from them, but I don’t like his French press method. The only thing I took from it is that it’s ok if I get busy cooking breakfast and need to let it sit a few minutes longer before pouring it out.

Star_Wahl_Clipper_Treker

Likes a fat handle in his hand