What's new

So I've been side-by-side testing DE vs cartridge for 14 straight days.

One side of face: Game Changer .84 with Polsilver. Other side of face: Fusion Proglide. Switched sides each day. 14 total shaves (two weeks).

A bit of context: I've been shaving DE for ~ 3 years. Before that, I used whatever I had on hand - cartridges, disposables, an old electric (which I hated). Recently, for unknown reasons, I got re-interested in cartridges and ordered a fresh pack of Fusion Proglide blades and have been using them on and off for a couple months, in between DE shaving.

Results of my 14 day experiment: No agenda here, nothing to prove, but here's my conclusion. The shave quality was similar between a Polsilver and a Proglide for four shaves. I always replace Polsilvers after 4 shaves, and the Proglide shave quality declines precipitously after 4, being ready for the trash after 6. But for those first four, the shave is similar and I'd have to give the edge to the Proglide as far as getting to true BBS is concerned. I found myself "cleaning up" stubborn chin stubble on the Polsilver side, which the Proglide obliterated with little effort in a few strokes. I am convinced the Proglide shaves closer than DE. As far as nicks, weepers, etc., I rarely get any with a Polsilver but I do occasionally get a small drop of blood here and there (around the neck area), but with the Proglide, absolutely no irritation or blood, anywhere, ever.

The only issue in my mind is cost. 4 shaves with a Polsilver costs about a nickle per shave. 6 shaves with a Proglide at the price I got them is $0.35 each. So there's a seven-fold increase in cost. That's not insignificant.