What's new

Shim on KCG with KCG blades

Dear fellow shavers,

As posted in other threads I am a newbie DE shaver. I have the KCG with KCG blades. Great combo that’s fairly consistent in achieving BBS’s.

I was wondering if the efficiency of the razor would improve if i used a shim rather than going for another razor all together. And i know that that is just a matter of doing it - i have made the shim already too.

I was just wondering if other gents have experience in shimming the KCG with KCG blades. Again, understanding the YMMV point of view.

Maybe too specific a question but i appreciate multiple views.

Thanks,

Guido

I shimmed my KCG once just to try it. It did make it much more efficient and more aggressive. I'd say it's not as aggressive as an R41 but since you're a newbie just be careful with it and you'll be fine. Lot's of shimming information in this thread -

I am a fan of shimming. It is a very inexpensive way to increase blade gap and efficiency without having to purchase a new razor. I have not shimmed KCG blades, but I do use a shim in the KCG razor. Two shims in a Gillette Tech make it perfect for me.

Many vintage blades are no fun to shave with, but the thicker blade makes a great shim, and they look cool too. Just make sure to dry them well to prevent rusting.

I shimmed my KCG once just to try it. It did make it much more efficient and more aggressive. I'd say it's not as aggressive as an R41 but since you're a newbie just be careful with it and you'll be fine. Lot's of shimming information in this thread -
Thanks! Hmmm..you comparing it to a R41 gives me goose bumps. I am now in my 4th month of DE shaving. Haha. Ok I will give it one shot yes - I shave daily but somehow my stubble is somewhat coarse, but I am as fine without. The result is there without the shim that is. Tomorrow is new blade day anyway.

So when you say more efficient and i assuming correctly that this means less time shaving because of less passes?