What's new

Sharpest Blades

Cracking this can of worms. Cost/material/durability aside, my favorite (current production) sharp-but-smooth blades for DE use are:

Treet Dura Sharp (single shave)
Gillette 7oclock Super Platinum (2-3)

Disclaimer: I have very little Lord family experience (Sharks)

St. Petersburg Nacets would be #1 if I were still buying them, but they almost fall off the balance toward the too-sharp side. Almost. Their consistent performance throughout the blade's life (3-4 shaves) mitigates this. They will probably reappear in a new country with the same grind & coating, but performance will also depend on the ore used, just like with the new Astras.

Super Iridiums would also previously make this list toward the smooth side, but my 2022 batch is disappointing. They are not "old Derby or Black Beauty dull," but there has been a sharpness decrease. Perhaps it was a steel change or reduced equipment maintenance, but I thought I was going crazy until threads popped up about this. I went from comfortably using one Iridium all week for workhorse DFSs to not wanting to use them at all. I typically only chased the baby with a new one or a Nacet instead. People say good things about Suneko as a replacement.

Others to try are Bic Chrome Platinum (more batch variation), and Wilkinson Sword Germans (a tuggy first pass that is still better than current Iridiums in my opinion). The Wilkies would become my weekly replacement if they lasted a bit longer and came in cardboard tucks, but after really enjoying the closeness and comfort of the Treets & Indian Gillettes, prior frugality and laziness has been kicked to the curb.

For comparison, I don't like Feathers or Dorco Prime very much. There are plenty of other blades, and plenty of other opinions, of course.

By reputation the BIC Chrome Platinum and Feather are the sharpest blades on the market, but I have tried neither personally.