What's new

Scotch start

Hello,

I'm a total newb in Scotch, I just know I like it. So I've decided to buy myself a bottle of scotch. I occasionally drink scotch (on rocks or with soda) in bars and I told myself "why not buy myself a Bottle of scotch".

At the store, I found the answer to my question, and that answer is: "Because there's way too much choice and I don't have a clue what to buy".

So, I limited my budget between 40$ and 50$ (Can), and here are my choices, only based on price. There are single malts and blended scotch in there:

EDIT: some whisky's here are irish and not scotish, my bad

Jameson 1780 Old Special Reserve
Johnnie Walker Black Label
Redbreast 12
Bushmills Malt 10
The Tyrconnell Single Malt
Chivas Regal 12
Aberlour 10
Glenlivet 12
Glenfiddich 12
Isle of Jura
Arran malt 10
Speyside 12
Auchentoshan 10
Balvenie founder's 10

So I know it will depend on each one taste. But are there some of these scotchs that are a no-no? Are some of these a 'get it ASAP'?

And Is there a difference in taste between a single malt and a blend?

I'm kind of lost here.
I ear all the time about glenlivet and glenfiddich and of course johnnie walker. I almost bought one of the three (on a self Rock-Paper-Scissors game (Glenlivet won)) but I thought about asking the question here and see what I got.

Here are the scotch I can get between 50 and 60$. If there is any of these scotch that is way better than the 40-50 range, I'd like to know ( I don't want to pay more than 50, but if any of these is way way way better, I might consider buying it):

The Dalmore 12
Glendronach original 12
Bowmore Islay 12
speyburn 12
glengoyne 10
Glenlivet 15
highland park 12
Johnnie walker green label
Macallan fine oak 10
ancnoc 12
Glenfarclas 12

Thanks to anyone who answers

Last edited:
Go with Glenlivet 12 or Highland Park 12