What's new

Question about Bootlegger's

CzechCzar

Use the Fat, Luke!
So, my barber recently let me try a bit of his St. John's bayrum, and I was absolutely floored by the depth and richness of the scent. After researching, it doesn't seem to last long at all. So for me it's not worth the spend.

One thing that keeps coming up in searches is Bootleggers. People (calling @OkieStubble !!) really sing its praises.

I have been on this forum a looooong time and have sadly never tried a bootleggers recipe. And I have a bunch of questions!
  1. Can they really compete with much more expensive brands in terms of scent and skin conditioning?
  2. Has anyone ever experimented with adding new Bootleggers recipes? It strikes me that the original clubman might be a great addition into one of the recipes.
  3. What are people's favorite recipes?
Thanks all!

I’m no expert but I’ll try to help out.

1. Most Bootleggers do not really have a lot of skin conditioning ingredients, just what comes in the ingredients. Most of the ingredients are affordable and common by design. You can add glycerine or hyaluronic acid if you wanted. Anything you want really.

2. @OkieStubble is the master of bootlegger recipes and testing. You might work with him on that. They go through extensive testing.

3. I like most all of the recipes. A couple are harder to get ingredients for anymore. Green freeze is my favorite. I mix it in hand usually.

The main goal with the Bootlegger's recipes is to combine inexpensive drugstore/barbershop aftershaves to create something much better than the original components. It's not really intended to compete with high-end aftershaves, though.

That said, there are no real secrets in making a good aftershave and you can add whatever skin conditioning components you like to the mix.

You can experiment and make your own mixes. I've done that because I wanted to use what I had on hand. It's just that they are not "official" Bootlegger's recipes.

Last edited: