What's new

Quarantine Shaving Blues

Am I the only one who’s shaving has gone to hell these past few weeks? Ever since our “lockdown” that has me home almost all day, everyday, my daily shaving routine has became a living hell. Razor burn EVERY DAY.

Look, I’m not a newbie, and up until just a few weeks ago I could effortlessly shave with just about any razor, blade, soap, cream and I have a substantial shave den to support all that. But now? Every shave is an epic disaster of burning cheeks and chin all day long. I’ve even had to resort to ice on my face to calm it at times.

The best I can do right now is shave every other day with the mildest razor and blade that I own (Tech with Astra SP or gasp, a Feather Neo cartridge) and a very mild soap like MWF. I used to shave every day with a 37C and a Feather blade with a ton of different soaps and creams in my rotation, no problems. WTH?? I’m at my wits end here.

This all seems to have started with razor burn from my first attempts with a new Mergress, which I finally ditched, but now it’s like I can’t seem to get my face back to normal.

This all seems to have started with razor burn from my first attempts with a new Mergress, which I finally ditched...

Wow. I probably got the best shave of the lockdown this morning with a Vintage Merkur Progress. Wonder what your difficulty with the Mergress was.

My shaves have remained pretty much the same. If there is a difference, I am skipping my Sunday shave...no church attendance during the COVID lockdown.

Wow. I probably got the best shave of the lockdown this morning with a Vintage Merkur Progress. Wonder what your difficulty with the Mergress was.

I’m thinking one problem was too much pressure due to the weight of the razor - the Megress is pretty heavy so where you grip the razor can have a big influence on the pressure if you‘re “letting the weight of the razor do the work.”

Another problem was that for some reason I struggled to find the right angle.