What's new

New to wet shaving? Some things to consider before you spend your money.

After getting interested in DE shaving a couple years ago, I have turned to this forum(among others) for information countless times. Now that I have some experience under my belt I hope to give back some knowledge to anyone new to wet shaving. I will touch upon several points which many new DE shavers have to consider when first starting off:

#1 Quality:

Most people turn to DE shaving because they are hoping for a better shaving experience. When I started, I thought it was this long lost holy grail that I was fortunate enough to rediscover. I thought that I would have a perfect shave with no irritation every time - boy was I wrong. While it is possible, many things have to come together for it to happen. DE shaving is made up of a sum of several parts. If one is lacking, then the entire experience is negatively effected.

Firstly, the DE shaving technique is significantly different from cartridge shaving. DE shaving requires you to go SLOW and very carefully. The odds of getting a smooth, irritation free shave are fairly slim unless under perfect conditions. ie. experienced, good tools, not in a hurry, ect.

With a cartridge, their is no technique needed. You can shave in any direction, at any angle, any speed, as willy nilly as you want and odds are that you will get a decent shave. It feel soooo great to shave with a Mach3 after DE shaving for a while - almost liberating in a way.

Some people will argue that you will get a more comfortable shave with DE. If you go as slowly and carefully with a cartridge razor as you do with a DE, you will have the most comfortable wet shave of your life. When I first started DE shaving, my face would BLEED hard. When first starting off, yours will too. This doesn't really happen with cartridges.