What's new

New Indiana Guy

Hi all!
I’m new to safety razors. I got tired of the cost and inconsistency of cartridge razors, and I think I would enjoy shaving with a safety razor more. I work for a large 911 ambulance service in Indiana, where I’m required to shave at least every other day because of the respirator we use.
I did a bit of research, and decided to piece together my own kit from WCS. It should be here later this week!

Thanks for having me!

Good prep is 60% of a good shave. The other half is a very light touch with the razor!

Seriously, press down like with a cart and you will nick yourself.

Welcome, sir.

Greetings and welcome!

From someone who is only slightly less new at wet shaving, let me offer you your first bit of hard earned encouragement - the learning curve is not entirely without its bumps and irritation. You will have some terrible shaves ahead. Stick with it - it's worth it!

Before long, you will find yourself really looking forward to your daily shave. Not long after that you will begin to notice how much closer, smoother, and more comfortable your shaves are than they used to be as a cartridge user. Once that happens, you can start calling yourself a beginner!

Also - as mentioned above, good prep is important. However, I wish more people had pointed out to me the cold shaving approach - it is a completely alternate approach that doesn't work for everyone. It seems to be one of those things that either really really works well for you, or really really doesn't. There does't seem to be a lot of middle ground. It works for me, and I wish more people had mentioned it earlier in my attempts to climb this learning curve.

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member
Hi all!