What's new

New DE shaver

Hi,
A 45yo little boy who doesnt know how to shave his tiny face here. Well you know what I mean.. Have been fooling around for a bit but trying to get my routine down. Have 3 razors, 2 fav blades, 5 creams, alum, oil, witch hazel and 4 AS.. How did you settle on what to decide on for a period of time?

Hi,
A 45yo little boy who doesnt know how to shave his tiny face here. Well you know what I mean.. Have been fooling around for a bit but trying to get my routine down. Have 3 razors, 2 fav blades, 5 creams, alum, oil, witch hazel and 4 AS.. How did you settle on what to decide on for a period of time?

Welcome on!

I don’t feel very “settled” in my selections, but I do love the selections I’ve made, if that makes sense. I’m a researcher when it comes to spending hard earned pennies, so I read up a lot on items and options on items before I hit that buy button. Any of my items could be a go-to for me at any time as the mood strikes. Some of the soaps and scents I like the best I practice self control on and use selectively on special occasions or when I need a pick me up.

It is usually a good idea to choose one shaving set-up and stick with it for the first few weeks while you are learning and developing your technique. What gear you decide to start out with is up to you. In general I would recommend a razor with middle of the road ‘aggressiveness’ such as an Edwin Jager DE89 or Merkur 34C, however there are many other options to choose from. As for blades, again the choice is yours. A well liked blade for beginners is the Astra SP.

Try taking things slowly at first and use a light touch. You’ll soon get the hang of things. If you haven’t already done so check out the Shave Wiki. Lots of good info there. Good luck and enjoy the shaves!

One last thing I forgot to mention and that is do not hesitate to ask lots of questions and please keep us posted on your progress. :001_smile

Last edited: