What's new

King C Gillette vs Slim

I am relatively new to safety razor shaving with just couple months of experience. My first razor is a King C Gillette, which I have mastered enough to get BBS with minimum irritation consistently using Astra Platinum or Gillette Platinum blades. My wife gave me a beautiful platinum re-plated Slim for my birthday, which I have used a couple times, but not quite conquered, though.
So my question is: What is the setting for the Slim that would make it equivalent or close to equivalent to the KGC?

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents
I would start with #1 for a week, then bump it up to #2 for the next week, and keep bumping it up one setting a week at a time until you find the comfort and efficiency level that matches your shaving style. For me, the sweet spot on my Slim is #4.

~doug~

My slim on 3 is about the same as the King C. I just got a great 3 pass shave last month with the slim. I never used to I am certain that I just found the angle. And I went 3,2,1 setting on the passes

I just bought a King C to see what the new toy is like. It's exactly like an EJ, which I find rougher than a Slim at 2 or 3. An acceptable travel or backup razor but no daily driver for me. I have sensitive skin and never allow much growth before shaving. At minimum I shave 3x, more often 4x or 5x a week.

If it’s exactly like an EJ I’d forget trying to mimic it with a slim.

Get a sharp blade, start the slim on 5. Go down if necessary, but don’t be afraid to go up. My slims tend to shine at around 6 for me. They’re far smoother than the EJ (King C) IMO.

As already stated though start to let yourself experiment with angles more.

Having tried both the blades you’ve mentioned have you tried Permasharps? They’re sharp but pretty forgiving. which version of the Gillette platinums are you using (White box/light blue or dark blue?)