What's new

Is anyone still using film?

Hello. I've been an avid photographer since I was a kid ('70's), so I have gone through a few "stages" in this hobby. Most of my photographic career has been done on 35mm film, but by far most actual pictures shot in my life is digital. In fact, for the last 5 years or so of my film days I scanned my negatives using a high quality film scanner (Nikon 2000 at that point was the cat's meow). Even though I do not shoot film any more I still miss doing so. I still have the equipment, but it is just so much more labor intensive and the fact that I can not instantly preview my work really has become a handicap in film camera use. Still, the images from film are very different for me. Better? In some cases definitely. First of all I can not afford full frame DSLR, so the film cameras provide an opportunity to use lenses with much longer focal length. This always gives the pictures a certain look. Human eye has a focal length of about 40mm, so 35mm film cameras with 35mm-50mm lenses produced images very much in line with how we see with our own eyes. In the day of digital photography before full frame sensors become every day item most consumers can afford the images have become very different in character. I do own a DSLR with an APC sized sensor, but I do most of my shooting with a Canon S95, which is a tiny sensor camera. The reason being is that in S95 (and other similar machines) the manufacturer has achieved that magic amount of compactness, image quality and photographic control of the image to simply render the bulky DSLR a dust collector at home. Well, that's not entirely true because my 16 year old son is getting into photography as well and is using my Pentax DSLR with my old Pentax manual focus lenses. That really does make a difference (the lens focal length again) in image character, but I can produce pretty amazing image quality with my S95. And most important thing I learned in my many years of being a shutterbug is t