What's new

I'm tired of Useless YouTube shaving videos!

Note:
This is a venting post where I express what I feel (and see) when I watch most YouTube shaving videos!
I won't mention any reviewers good or bad!
But I will point out that some reviewers (very few) are actually at the top of their game!

Well, when I'm researching a razor, I obviously first gauge what everyone here on B&B feels about said razor. I enjoy this community and also use it as an educational platform for our shaving hobby. But for some reason I also end up looking at YouTube videos. It's nice to also get a visual hands on look at something!
These are the things I've noticed in no particular order:

-Half of the reviewers have no idea about what they're talking about! I lose track at the amount of times that I hear: "I think" or "I can't remember". I for one study the heck out of anything I do and try to learn as much as I can on the technical side (I'm a Pilot and instructor by trade). So these so called expert reviewers (as perceived by their followers) sometimes don't remember specifics of the tool they're reviewing i.e., blade gaps, blade exposure, handle length, finish etc..

-They have no whiskers to shave (probably one the things that bother me the most). You are reviewing a tool that's meant to shave and you've got no hair to shave off for the demo?
Two things I've noticed that might possibly explain this:
1. They shave 10 times a day in order to continuously make videos for more likes, subscribers and/or product revenue. They never give time for a nice growth in order to demonstrate how well the razor actually works!
2. They're someone that by nature has practically no hair to shave off no matter how much time passes for growth. In my opinion, these people should not be reviewing razors!