What's new

Help from any Karve shavemasters who shave both head and face...

I have been shaving with a double-edged Schick Krona since 1969. Never have had a problem with it. After discovering your forum through my son, and enjoying all of the threads, I decided that it was time to upgrade from my $1.49 Schick Krona to a Karve which came with an E plate from West Coast Shaving. I used a Derby Extra, instead of my usual Feather which I use in my Krona. I shaved my face around my beard and then my head. The KARVE with the E plate shaved my face and neck beautifully and delivered a BBS. My head was an entirely different matter. It was Dresden after the fire bombing! The right side of my head was fine, but the left had three or four nicks requiring my styptic along with a swathe of razor burn on the back left of my head. The new razor is a lot heavier than my Krona. I don’t know what happened. Should I step down to a B or C plate for my head. I’d like to use the Karve for my head as well as my face. Is it common to change plates on the Karve when moving from the face to the head? Help!!

E sounds awfully aggressive for a head shave. I’m not a head shaver, but I’d consider trying a Karve C or D, both of which I’ve found to be plenty smooth and efficient.

E sounds awfully aggressive for a head shave. I’m not a head shaver, but I’d consider trying a Karve C or D, both of which I’ve found to be plenty smooth and efficient.
The E gave me a beautiful face and neck shave. Closer than I ever got with my Krona. I worry that a C or D might be too aggressive for my head. What about a B? That apparently has negative blade exposure. The C is neutral. I just don’t get why my left side was brutalized and not my right?

I currently use the B plate OC, or the C plate SB with my Karve. E is just too aggressive for me. That being said, I cannot see why, if you get a good quality shave with it on your face, you cannot do the same for your scalp.

Questions . . .