What's new

Head Shaving SE Razor Advice Needed

B & B members, Wet Shaving Brothers and Friends, I have an issue and need some help regarding a SE Razor for Head Shaving.

So here is the issue, a dear friend who has been head shaving for the last 4 years has been through much with bumps and ingrown hair caused by his Gillette Fusion. It has been a painful ride for him and yesterday he was sporting a wound caused by him going a bit aggressive over a bump. It looked like he had sliced off a bit of his scalp and he was inquiring about picking up the Pitbull Skull Shaver Gold Pro. Talked him out of it as my experience with electric face shavers always left me with either bumps, a shadow or even razor burn if i went over the same area a few times. Advised him that a wet shave is still the answer and an SE Razor would help. Now, I have zero knowledge about the best SE or AC razors for head shaving.

Here's my query, would a half DE razor be best or an AC Razor ? The only two I have used are the Twig and the Yaqi Katana but I wouldn't suggest the Twig due to the mechanism being fragile. At the top of my head and after reading a few reviews, the one's below are what I suggested.

1. Shield Avenger Ti
2. Yaqi Romulus or Remus
3. RazoRock Hawk V3
4. Razorock Eco

I understand that many head Shavers prefer a a slightly lighter razor. Keeping in mind the fact that he is a Head Shaver who also face shaves using a multi blade cartridge, Your help and suggestions would be much appreciated as to what SE he should pick up.

I use an Eco now for a couple of years with no issues.

BF8CED1F-285A-40F9-A24D-AEFA3EF70931.jpeg

Heads have a lot of surface area. Artist Club blades have a cutting edge nearly 50% longer than DE blades. So ignoring cost and other considerations, AC razors have an advantage for any shaving involving large areas (head, legs, back, etc.).