What's new

First impression: Cella

First, a background: I've been using a DE for about 3 1/2 months now (brush & soap lather with cart for about 2 years before that) and have tried C&E Sandalwood, Nomad and AOS Sandalwood soaps. All did a fine job of lathering, cushioning, etc. I've recently started a business, and SWMBO & I found out a couple of weeks ago that we will be expecting our first child in April, so finances have been a little tight. As a result, this Christmas we're just asking for essentials (dryer sheets, dishwashing detergent, etc), in quantities to last us throughout the year. My list, of course, contained a few different shave soaps. Well, my mom went Amazon-crazy and the first package showed up on our doorstep yesterday. On to the review...

I really like that Cella comes in its own container with screw-on lid. It should be great for travel. When I opened it, the smell of almonds (think amaretto, maraschino cherries, marzipan) was pretty strong. I was a little worried that it would be overpowering during a shave. More on that later. I'm a head-shaver, too, so brought it into the shower with my brush (GBS silvertip) and my Fusion (carts only for head-shaving. I like taking a little extra time on my face, but my head gets a single ATG pass. Never any irritation).