What's new

Feather AS-D2 Review - Packaging Through Usage

The title shows I used to be a product manager. This review is going to cover ordering, packaging, disassembly, assembly, and the first shaves. I am limited to five pictures per posting. This posting covers ordering and packaging. The next post will cover disassembly and assembly. Tomorrow's post will cover the first shave. I want my forest to have 48 hours of growth for the first Feather AS-D2 experience.

Ordering

West Coast Shaving had them up for ordering on Sunday, April 21, 2013. I ordered and it was delivered right on time this afternoon by USPS Priority Mail. West Coast Shaving packed the Feather's box extremely well. It arrived in perfect condition.

Packaging

Figuring out how to open the Feather's outer box was an experience. It was Origami time.

$DSCN0612 - Outer Box.jpg

Look for the small piece of clear tape. Do not try cutting it. Gently peel it off. The paper didn't stick to the tape.

$DSCN0613 - Red Box Inside the White Wrapper.jpg

This is a one piece wrapper. It goes back together much easier then it comes apart. The inner box is a deep red. The Feather AS-D2's paper packaging is much less expensive than the wooden box used with the Feather AS-D1. That said, it is still very classy packaging.

$DSCN0615 - First Look.jpg

You see the instruction card and the Feather razor blades, a five pack, when you open the red box's lid. Everything fits tightly into the foam core.

$DSCN0620 - Second Look.jpg

Lift the instruction card and the Feather AS-D2 comes into view. Again, the fit and finish of the packaging is superb.

$DSCN0621 - Third Look.jpg

The Feather AS-D2's fit and finish are superb. No fingerprints, smudges, blemishes, etc... The razor is flat out perfection.

Summary

So far, I am impressed. The experience provided thus far has met my expectations for a luxury product.

Part 2 - Disassembly and Assembly

$DSCN0625 - Bottom View.jpg