What's new

DE razor stopped shaving?

Hey everybody. I've been using a Merkur long-handle DE razor since 2015. A few years ago (maybe 3?) I stopped using a brush and soap and switched to just using canned shaving cream. In the last month, though, my razor has stopped shaving effectively. I've tried swapping out blades (Shark, 7AM, Treet), but that didn't solve the problem. I also thought maybe the switch from Barbasol to Gillette cream might have been at play, so I swapped to the old puck of Proraso soap I had in the bathroom for my last shave. That didn't fix the problem, either. The razor will slide across my skin not cutting any hair but just removing the cream that's on my face. I haven't changed my technique, at least that I'm aware of. Any idea what might be going on? Thanks for the tips!

You've changed something. I'd pay attention to your lather, and possibly your angle.

When I whip up too dense of a lather with Cella soap (as shown on most YouTube videos), my razor floats on top of the lather cushion. When I thin it slightly, it still shows those creamy peaks, but the slight increase in water content makes all the difference.

... Thom

It's called a "canned foam strike" .It's pretty common with DE razors when used along with canned foam.

Either you will have to go back to brush & shaving soap/cream lathering or
toss the DE razor and get yourself one of those fancy multi-blade cartridge razors.

By "Merkur long-handle DE razor" I guess you mean the 24C or similar? I think it's a very mild razor, but it shouldn't suddenly change. I have a lot of respect for Shark and Gillette 7 O'clock blades (but not Treet), so I doubt they are the problem, so long as you aren't trying to get too many shaves from each blade. YMMV, of course.

That leaves technique (angle, pressure, etc.) and lather.