What's new

Cut Advice

Two days ago, I messed up at the end of my shave by hitting my middle finger on the toe of my straight razor.
Bleeding was quickly controlled. Wound was disinfected and then antibiotic cream was applied. Have been using
a bandage to try and press the cut together so the seam won't show after healing.

I keep the bandage on for about 12 hours and then take it off to air the wound for a few hours. I've also kept the 'finger
100% dry. Please have a look at the damage and let me know if you think this would need stitches...and if so, can I still do
this 48 hours after the cut. FWIW, the cut looks very benign now...not as red, no pain but I am concerned that the cut won't close
up fully, if left to its own devices. I thought Id check here first before going to see a doctor.

Cut.JPG

Looks like it should heal OK on its own, but I am not a doctor. It wouldn't hurt to have a doctor or nurse take a look, just to be certain.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

No point in stitching that, its already closed.
Keeping it closed will be the big job. A steri-strip or similar I would leave on for a good while till you're sure it won't open again

You can also use New Skin or some other skin adhesive. It's basically super glue. I've used it for cuts like this before and it works about as well as anything I've tried. If you apply it right it'll stay on for at least several days and holds the edges together at least as well as a butterfly bandage.

I was going to suggest superglue. It's really nice for fingers because they see a lot of movement.

Good that a butterfly kept it closed, and for that very reason, I have two fingers programmed into my phone and laptop haha!

Always keep the band aid on unless it become wet or the gauze pad become saturated. Change it whenever it does. Wounds actually need moisture to heal and leaving it to air out can dry out the new surface cells forming...YMMV of course