What's new

Contest time with three winners!

CCshc45web.jpg

With school back in session I thought it would be fun to run a contest about the teacher that had the most influence in your life. Tell us why - tell us a story.

This is CONUS only due to shipping expense. The three winners will be drawn by random.org. Each winner will be able to select one item from our store right here: All Products

(LATHER BOWLS ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THIS CONTEST.)

Good luck to each of you!

Let me share first. I was a very average student all the way through and did my part to make the upper half of the class possible. Ahem. My senior year in high school I took College Prep English. I was way over my head, believe me. It was taught by a man who was the most intimidating person I ever knew. Intimidating not only physically but intellectually. He commanded the classroom using the Socratic method of teaching. This meant nobody was allowed to raise their hand. He would simply call on whomever he pleased. In addition, he never uttered our first names. We were always addressed as, "Mr. Peterson" or "Miss Rodgers."

When it was time for him to fill in our semester report card we turned them in to him as we entered the room. Then he would call our name alphabetically one at a time. We would approach his desk and then turn and face the class as we stood next to him sitting at his desk. He would fill in our grade and then (dismissively) hand our report card back to us. After we were seated he would call out the next student, and so on. This all took place in total silence during the hour. A very different atmosphere and quite formal. We studied Shakespeare and other English poets as well as classic novels. All of us walked away with war stories from the class that even today we reminisce about at reunions.