What's new

Chrome Adjustable

Anyone else (besides Mr Razor) who owns the 1960 Gillette Chrome adjustable and can confirm that the blades provided with that set are only the ones displayed on Mr. Razor's site? What I have with mine are supposed to be the ones delivered originally with the set -- at least according to the gentleman who sold it to me (and claimed to have purchased it new). Your thoughts?

full

full
full

Off topic but what is the price range in that condition for one of these?
Curious since I have no vintage razors but wouldn't mind getting an adjustable!
I'm a Newb!
Thanks,
LRod

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
Generally, @LRod , we don't talk values here at B&B. Those are pretty scarce razors we're talking about, too.
I'd suggest a Slim Adjustable or Fatboy for a start in the vintage adjustable sector of the hobby.
A warm welcome, sir!

Anyone else (besides Mr Razor) who owns the 1960 Gillette Chrome adjustable and can confirm that the blades provided with that set are only the ones displayed on Mr. Razor's site? What I have with mine are supposed to be the ones delivered originally with the set -- at least according to the gentleman who sold it to me (and claimed to have purchased it new). Your thoughts?

full

full
full

Your blade dispenser looks to be the right one. Just like the NOS specimen in the video. The old ad shown in the video does however show that that particular model also got sold with a 20 blade dispenser.

Last edited by a moderator:
Off topic but what is the price range in that condition for one of these?
Curious since I have no vintage razors but wouldn't mind getting an adjustable!
I'm a Newb!
Thanks,
LRod
Go search for 'Gillette Toggle' on eBay with previous sold razors and then remember that this "Chrome Toggle" which is in fact nickel plated is more rare.

Should give you a pretty good idea.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
Your blade dispenser looks to be the right one. Just like the NOS specimen in the video.