What's new

Car buying time!

I'm in the market for a "personal car". Not something for the family, but something just for me to enjoy. I have been driving my current "personal car" since 1997 and it's time to upgrade. I'm not planning on brand new, but something about 4 years old with fairly low mileage and good maintenance records. In the past when buying used cars, I have avoided cars that have mods (engine, aftermarket wheels, sound systems, etc). Erring on the side of caution I tend to be more comfortable with cars that are bone stock. Some of the cars that I have looked at have a lot of mods and without some background on who did the mods, I think that I should stay away from them. Am I being irrational? Am I missing out on some great cars? What say you?

I do not think you are being irrational. Although I suspect it is easy enough to check on the quality of the wheels and sound system mods. In particular, I assume that if the sound system sounds and works okay, and is from a reasonable brand, it is okay. I personally would stay away from engine mods for the reason you gave, for fear a mod might void a warranty or something like that, and for fear an engine mod would indicate a propensity on the part of the first owner to run the car hard. Also, I suspect engine mods cut the resale value. One might even say that about the wheels/tires. What do I know, though, I drive a 2018 RAV4 hybrid.

Thanks. My problem with wheels and tires is that I have seen them cause suspension issues. You are right about the sound system. Don't sleep on that Toyota. My Sequoia has 300k miles and is still running strong!