What's new

Can shave with a shavette but not a real straight

I’ve been shaving with a Feather Artisan SS for a while, and I get excellent shaves. But when I try with a real cutthroat (a Dovo 5/8”, honed professionally) nothing happens. I mean nothing; I don’t cut any hair at all. I don’t reduce growth volume even a little on a WTG pass. I don’t cut any hair at all on a XTG or a ATG pass. I’ve tried flattening my angle, increasing my angle, sharpening on a 4000/8000 grit stone, and even shaving my arm hair to be sure it’s actually cutting (and it is, as my now bare forearms will attest). What on Earth could be going on here? I’m stumped, and frustrated.

I have no experience with a shavette, but from what others have said I understand the technique to be very similar, though not identical. So if a shavette shaves and a traditional straight doesn't, I would assume it's the razor.

I could never shave off an 8k edge. Arm hair, yes, but not facial hair. Everyone said I should be able to, but it wasn't until I added the 12k stone that I could actually shave with the edges I produced.

Perhaps you are in a similar situation? Just guessing...

The primary difference is going to be edge quality. The replaceable blades used in shavettes are sharper than roughly 95% of the edges people shave with on their straights. It is entirely possible to hone and polish a straight's edge to an even sharper degree, but 8000 grit stones won't do that job. Check the "Newbie Honing Compendium" in the honing subforum - the instructions in that thread (films then pasted balsa strops) have come to be known as "The Method". This is probably the easiest, most beginner friendly way for a completely new hand to produce really sharp edges on a pretty tight budget. The whole setup of equipment can be had for less than the cost of even one decent finishing stone.