What's new

Straight shavette first time advice? - Feather DX

Hello!

I'm a little unsure if this has been asked but I'll give it a go.

I've recently bought a Feather DX Kamisori from Japan (straight handle, non-folding) which uses the Feather AC blades. I've been using AC safety razors for a few years now and decided to give the DX a go because I've wanted one for ages.

So I've just done my first shave and I'm feeling a bit meh. I didn't have any major cuts but a few slight weepers here and there which stung like hell when I applied aftershave or even just water. I spent about 30 minutes trying to work out which hand I find better to use, also tried a ton of different soaps. My hardest areas are the jawline and the neck, and I felt like I was skipping patches of unshaved stubble because I was scared to apply much pressure, so when I went over a certain area again - the razor burn was unreal despite having a ton of slickness from having just about 5 different soaps on my face lol. When I get to shaving the angles on my jawline I am really scared not to slice my skin.

Other than stretching/lifting my skin and trying to lay the razor flat on my face, does anyone have any more tips? Creams I've used are - Cremo, TOBS, Saponificio, MWF, Triumph & Disaster, Proraso - and tbh not much difference with any of these when using the DX :(

I really want to like this razor but I honestly cannot try again until my face has calmed down a bit. Not entirely sure why I went for the DX and not the SS or SR, but I thought I'm used to more aggressive razors so I just went with the DX.

Would be glad if anyone has any tips

As someone in a similar process (bought the SR kamisori, my first AC-shavette, a good month ago): go at it slow.

What I have done so far:
- Only used the SR in relatively safe areas. Right now my main priority is to build up the motoric skills needed to be in full(er) control