What's new

Can a knife blade be too sharp?

Just got my first good knife, a Benchmade mini Barrage. Out of the box the blade edge was about 80 grit. I got it to a nice 1500 grit finish. Scary sharp.

But I got to thinking. As a woodworker I use hand planes. I seem to remember that many woodworkers at woodworking shows, years ago, felt plane blades should not be made really, really sharp (say 8000 to 10000 grit). The argument as I recall, was that they only got duller faster.

Wondering if the same is true of knives. 1500 grit seems plenty sharp, yet I see these mirror finishes, and I wonder.

What are your preferences are for your EDC knives?

I've used the Spyderco Tri-Angle Sharpmaker for years. It comes with two different "grit" triangular rods, medium (brown) and fine (white). You can buy others for it, including an Ultra Fine Tri-Angle. The Tri-Angles are made of high alumina ceramic, so "grit" is kind of a misnomer. Spyderco has said, "An approximate "grit" for the Spyderco High Alumina Ultra Fine Ceramic is 2,000 , Fine is 1,800 and Medium is 600."

I'll usually start with the optional diamond and CBN Tri-Angles to set the bevel at 15° per side, and eventually finish with the brown Tri-Angles. The medium Tri-Angles give a slightly "toothy" edge that acts like micro-serrations that'll grab your fingerprints. On some blades, (Super Blue,) I'll dust off the edge with the fine Tri-Angles.

In all cases I put a 20° micro bevel on the edge.

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
I am not a kife guy - any knife I use is merely a tool; if I can cut what I need to cut, then the knife is sharp enough. If not then it gets a few strokes on an oilstone, only about 300 grit, followed by a sharpening steel; that is plenty sharp enough for me. Not sure that a knife can be too sharp, but I have no interest in maintaining extreme sharpness.