What's new

Beginners Magic: Disappearing Lather

Brush novice here, so ignorance is a defensible shield! For now.

To date, have tried inexpensive boar, horse and synthetic brushes. Soaked the boar and horse in shampoo water for a day, then cold water soaked for 2 days. The shaving results have been the same.

Tried a pre-shave cream lather with a moist brush. What little was there, it disappeared. Then a cream lather on the face with a moist brush. It disappeared. Luckily, a slick-enough film was left on my facial surface to complete a DFS shave, but no lather.

Pulled out an old can of Edge gel, hand-lathered it up to a thick cloud, then brushed. It disappeared.

*** (WHERE'S THE FOAM)?

Help. Please.

Brush novice here, so ignorance is a defensible shield! For now.

To date, have tried inexpensive boar, horse and synthetic brushes. Soaked the boar and horse in shampoo water for a day, then cold water soaked for 2 days. The shaving results have been the same.

Tried a pre-shave cream lather with a moist brush. What little was there, it disappeared. Then a cream lather on the face with a moist brush. It disappeared. Luckily, a slick-enough film was left on my facial surface to complete a DFS shave, but no lather.

Pulled out an old can of Edge gel, hand-lathered it up to a thick cloud, then brushed. It disappeared.

*** (WHERE'S THE FOAM)?

Help. Please.
Probably swept up into the brush. Product is designed to to be hand lathered quickly. Could also be that reworking the Edge lather with a brush somehow degrades it or perhaps the canned product degraded over time (old can of Edge). That said others have had success using canned product, including Edge, with a brush per the link below so clearly YMMV. Note that a natural hair boar brush will "eat" a lot more soap than a synthetic.