What's new

baseball hats do a poor job for sun protection?

I always thought baseball hats were good for sun protection, but now in my 50's I realize they have probably done a really bad job all along. First there is no protection for the back of neck (but that is obvious). However, I also have noticed that the visor tends to be so shaped that it doesn't even protect the skin on the cheeks and possibly even the eyes all that well. In that style of had, maybe a truckers had might do a better job because it tends to have a bigger and wider visor.

What do you guys think?

I have been using a wide brimmed hat for a few years but misplaced it and tried to get by with a baseball hat and realized it was for all practical purposes useless, maybe protects the nose at most.

I always thought baseball hats were good for sun protection, but now in my 50's I realize they have probably done a really bad job all along. First there is no protection for the back of neck (but that is obvious). However, I also have noticed that the visor tends to be so shaped that it doesn't even protect the skin on the cheeks and possibly even the eyes all that well. In that style of had, maybe a truckers had might do a better job because it tends to have a bigger and wider visor.

What do you guys think?

I have been using a wide brimmed hat for a few years but misplaced it and tried to get by with a baseball hat and realized it was for all practical purposes useless, maybe protects the nose at most.
I think it’s best to get an adult hat like a fedora. Something with a decent brim and made of a good quality felt so that it can protect you from sun, rain and snow. Much more convenient than carrying an umbrella. Akubras are excellent and very hard wearing. Great value too.