What's new

Are you staying invested in the market?

There’s an investing saying that goes like this: Don’t just do something, sit there! I’ll add to that and say BUY MORE TOO!

I’ve been dollar-cost-averaging since 2001. When crashes occur, I double-down on my weekly tax-free (short-term) investments. You have to prepare to lose in the short-term and win in the long-term. And also not to follow the herd who are way too emotional and don’t have a plan in place to actually make money. I’m on auto-pilot investing. I buy the same S&P small cap ETF whether the markets booming or in the toilet. Since I have 20+ years to go I don’t care about the next 5-10 years. If they’re bad that long I’ll buy my ETF’s at a hefty discount!

So yes, a resounding YES!

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
About a decade ago, I invested 5% of my net worth in BTC and have sat on most of it ever since. Now my BTC represents about 75% of my net worth.

I have become quite use to volatility so I'm staying in my investments, BTC, stock and real estate. You only loose if you have to sell when the markets are down. My cash reserves are enough to keep me for about 10 years. Hopefully that will see me through this coming markets downturn.

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman
Got burned in 2008 when the market crashed, anyone else pulling out of the market?
Depending on your health situation I pulled out 2 years ago and just lived off my company's pension and Canada Pension plan & savings and because my health is not the best, why worry while I pile into GIC for a little while. Inflation is still stubbornly high and the Federal reserve both in USA & Bank of Canada reserve will just raise interest rates until they are back to 2% inflation per year before there is any interest rate relief. The economy is in for some rough sledding over the next 2-3 years possibly IMO(I hope I'm wrong).