What's new

Any tips for a new Behmor user?

I just ordered a new Behmor 1600 from Burman traders and I am very pleased with the attention Garry Burman has shown me.I expect delivery on Friday. That being said does anyone have any tips to help me with my first few batches? I am graduating from a WestBend PopperyII I believe and I like my roasts a wee bit into second crack. Thanks in advance.

Since you already home roast, you are well prepared to dive in. I would recommend starting out with the P1 profile, the most basic one before experimenting with others. Behmor has reputation for roasting better at 1lb setting than 1/2 or 1/4 but I have little first hand experience to back that up. That said, you might want to start with smaller batches to gain more experience and develop a better feel for the machine, but then again if you want to experiment with profiles other than P1 it is better to use whatever batch size you think you intend to use in the end so that you are only playing with one variable instead of two.

As you probably know, behmor has some reputation for not generating dark roasts at full rated size. In my experience and reading about others one of the main factors that comes into play is output voltage, that some household circuits have too great of a voltage drop before reaching the machine and that accounts for much of the variation between individuals. I tend to roast 13-14 oz of beans on the 1lb setting to give me a margin of error just in case, but I now have a better understanding of when I can roast a full pound, either when ambient temperatures are above 75F or with 30-60 seconds of preheating. One can certainly over roast and set the coffee on fire so it is not a question of heat output, only how the profiles are programmed into the machine.