What's new

A really nice boar brush.

I just ordered a Zenith 502 BC brush, from "Your Shaving". I've heard so many good things about Zenith boar brushes, especially this model. If you own one of these or any Zenith boar brush, I'd like to hear your opinion of it.
When I get mine in, I'll give a review here. This is what the 502 BC looks like.

502-BC.jpg

Last edited:

Ravenonrock

I shaved the pig
I have a Zenith Wenghe and it is probably the most dense of all my boars. It is breaking in slowly, or rather I am breaking it in slowly as I rotate through a variety of brushes. I am just beginning to see its potential as it continues to open up. More regular use will definitely help things along, but I’m in no hurry. I like the simple dark Wenghe wood handle and compact size of the knot. I’m Looking forward to how this brush will continue to develop… I think favourably.

I have a Zenith Wenghe and it is probably the most dense of all my boars. It is breaking in slowly, or rather I am breaking it in slowly as I rotate through a variety of brushes. I am just beginning to see its potential as it continues to open up. More regular use will definitely help things along, but I’m in no hurry. I like the simple dark Wenghe wood handle and compact size of the knot. I’m Looking forward to how this brush will continue to develop… I think favourably.
It seems you have a nice brush. Post a picture of it sometime. I would love to see it.

Here is my Zenith 502 Bleached, in a snap I took just now:

2023.11.11Z502.jpg

This one came out of the box new very recently. I have noted elsewhere how impressive I've been with how easily this one has been breaking-in. I have nevertheless been running it through my break-in process, and it just keeps getting better and better.

Overall, the head on this has opened up relatively faster than the tips have softened/split, somewhat contrary to my expectations.