What's new

A caveman's tequila primer

Over in The Brown Leaf, I had asked for advice on pairing premium fine sipping tequila with premium fine pipe tobacco and cigars.
http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/402528-Pairing-fine-sipping-tequila-with-fine-BL

Unsurprisingly there was some curiosity from the uninitiated. Tequila is widely misunderstood; many people remember getting completely blitzed at a college party choking down shots of Cuervo Especial Gold with salt and lime and getting a nasty hangover, but have no idea that there is a whole world of high-class tequila out there just as there is for various types of whiskey. Tangent discussion of tequila ensued culminating in the following, for which it was suggested that a post here might be appropriate too.

Please continue our education...I'm taking notes. :thumbup1:

I guess I could write a primer. This will be basic and I'm no expert, but it might help.

Blanco/silver: Un-aged or aged just for a short time. Color is clear.
Reposado: Aged up to a year in retired bourbon barrels. Color is somewhat golden.
Gold: Sometimes means reposado, sometimes (i.e. Cuervo and Sauza bottom-shelf offerings and I think Margaritaville too) means caramel color.
Anejo: As I posted above, aged 1-3 years in retired bourbon barrels. Color is dark golden/brown.

Mixto: A mixture, usually 49% cane/corn sugar spirits and 51% agave. Should not exist. The bottle never says "mixto". Actually I suspect that some kind of premium mixto exists but I've never seen one.
100% de agave: The only tequila anyone should drink. If the bottle doesn't say 100% de agave then it's probably a mixto. That's not to say that all 100% de agave tequilas are good; I've had some that were like paint thinner.