What's new

Gillette Super Speed 1940's no date code

Item Description

Okay, I must start out by saying that I am new to wetshaving. However, my grandfather had a gillette superspeed identical to the one that I picked up on ebay. After he would shave, he used to lather my face up with his brush and hot shave cream dispenser and let me "shave" with it (without the blade of course.) This superspeed I purchased on ebay for less than $10. It has no date code on it, and is not a tapered bottom, or colored bottom, but is the knurled handle. From what I can tell, it would be pre 1948-1950? If anyone can correct me on this, please do, I'd love to know. Let's get one thing out of the way, my Pawpaw (who could walk on water, gave the best christmas presents, could do no wrong, practically raised me) had one identical, so maybe I'm going to be partial to the superspeed for sentimental reasons.
I used the razor with cheap blades purchased at SuperDollar (5 for $1.) The blades don't last long enough for me, but give a really good shave. I'd love to try other blades in this razor, hoping that it continues to shave this nice or better with other blades as well. Maybe these cheap blades are a great match for this razor, maybe it's the razor, maybe it's the sentimental value of the razor, but I love the shave I get with it! I'll tell now, I'm hooked on wetshaving. My face feels great, no razor rash, no ingrown hairs, I like it.
View attachment 16888

View attachment 16889

Latest reviews

Pros: price
Cons: aggressiveness
Quality razor of which my biggest complaint is the weight. I expected this to be mild fro the outset from all the reviews I'd already read. I was looking for a mild shave today and it delivered that. It doesn't have the weight that many of the others in its family have and for that I'm left wanting. My preference is for a heavy longer handle , which this has neither. It is easy to grip even with a lather laden hand.
Grip
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Balance