What's new

What do you do with all the soaps?

Hi Folks!

With this thread I firstly just want to share my thoughts on the topic and secondly want you to bring in yours as maybe this will bring some clearance within my brain.

Why do many (not all for sure!) people purchase / possess more shaving soaps than they will ever be able to fully use up? This shall not offend anybody, I am really curious about this fact.

I have been wet-shaving for almost 17 years and 2 years ago I entered the field of traditional shaving. Having watched many shaving videos on YouTube and browsing through wet-shaving regarded fora, I firstly had the impression that many guys entered DE/SE-shaving due to lower costs and some even for environmental reason. Since 2015, from my perspective, the thing has changed and with the rising number of artisan soap makers coming up (which is a GREAT thing), it is as if almost all at least publicly active wet-shavers have developed an addiction to buy every latest soap that arrives the market. I am also very interested in new soaps from various soap makers, but I do not see the need to buy so much more shaving software than I actually can use. Of course, a shaving soap has a long shelf life, so one can have few to rotate. But some (well, many I would guess) do posses more than 30, 40, 50 shaving soaps.

So my questions are:

1. Are there guys out there that would publicly admit that they've developed an acquiring addiction?

2. What do you do with all these soaps that you'll probably only use a couple of times and then place back in your den? Do you do samples out of it (to hand them over to forum members), do you sell it, do you give it away to a family member, to friends?