What's new

Workbench Custom Razors for the new year 2011

proxy.php

Thanks Bill, I am no artist by any means, and I really like you're work a lot. How about instead of a basket weave, make them crosses? Crosses were used a lot by both knights and vikings.

Something like this: (I hope it's ok to post this) http://fc05.deviantart.net/fs13/f/2006/354/3/2/Cross_tattoo_design_by_whittysx.jpg
Great design for a pendant or cane handle or something, but wouldn't exactly work very well for an area with an irregular border. Try again. :001_smile

Can you do ghost flames with etching?

Phil
enh? Clarification, please. Are you referring to hamon lines? If so, I don't know if they are even possible on stainless. This is 154CM steel.

What a great antique piece. Nice flavor for what I'm doing.

I decided to keep it simple for the spine. A simple modified twist. The key to having it come out presentable is to make sure things stay symmetrical, and that includes the border lines. I could have just put the twist pattern by itself on the spine, but thought things would look better with a border.

As a reminder, these are the gadgets used to make the border lines parallel to the edge. Care must be taken that the lines are, indeed, parallel. It's easy to drift the lines to one side or the other because tool positioning can vary by the way they are held.

attachment.php

Once the lines are scribed, I lightly engrave them so that they are not lost in any of the other steps. Then I put on a film of transfer wax (modeling clay also works) with my fingers. This allows me to draw directly onto the steel with a pencil. A moderate amount of care must be taken to keep from rubbing the lines out before they are permanently cut into the steel. The pencil lines don't need to be perfect because "by eye" adjustments in the cuts can be made during the actual engraving process. Here is the design in pencil that is contained within the border of the dorsal side of the spine.

View attachment 153153