What's new

The Feminization of Alcohol: A Diatribe

Well, I drink my amber spirits neat (or rum with a cube of ice in summer) because that is when they are at their best for me. I drink a dry Gibson Martini (cocktail onion as garnish) and won't touch wine unless it's red.

So manly drink choices, yes... but I also have long hair and am an artist by trade. So no man points there. I carry a leather satchel with me, points deducted there... Oh! But I keep my cigar accessories in there, and a rather effective CRKT pocket knife. So more masculine points there...

Do you see the pointlessness of your post?

I have to disagree with most of you here. I think the times have never been better to be serious about good alcoholic beverages. The number, variety, and quality of beers available even at the supermarket today is incredible. Every city has multiple microbrewers, nearly every bar has something other than bud/miller/coors on tap, and no longer must Americans look to european imported beers to get something with flavor. On the liquor side there is more interest than ever in premium quality spirits. I guarantee that most liquor stores and even grocery stores (at least those in states that allow grocery stores to sell booze) carry a larger selection and higher quality products than they did 20 or 30 years ago. I can get premium whisk(e)y, rum, gin, etc nearly anywhere I go these days.

Sure, along with the above has come an increasing popularity in ridiculous "-tinis," fruity beers, and of course the oxymoronic "flavored vodkas." But that is a small price to pay in my opinion for the incredible variety and availability of good booze we see.