What's new

You can only own one suit - Black or Navy?

I'll see if I can figure out how to add a poll.

Jos A. Bank is having a 70% off sale. I'm looking at their slim fit line. I was planning on getting a black with grey striped suit, but wanted to know what other, sophisticated men thought I should get.

The suits fit me very well, and are on sale right now for $268. I'm open to any other suggestions that would give me more bang for the buck.

Right now all I own is a J. Ferrar pieced suit from Penny's. I'm a young professional and want something a bit more stylish.

EDIT: They had charcoal grey in the slim fit, so I bought that. Thanks for the input!

Last edited:
Navy. It "fits" any occasion depending on shirt/tie. You can go for the serious business look or the lighter look. Not as harsh as black and plenty of colors (shirts/ties) go with it. To get some ideas for colors you might not have thought of with a Navy suit look at some of the websites for the Savile Row shops and Hong Kong Tailors. Shoe/belt color choices are extended also. I have a Navy suit and a Charcoal suit (among others) and the Charcoal looks dated. It was great in the '80's though. YMMV

Steve

The Navy is very flexible, but the black pinstriped suit will cover you into all but the most formal occasions. Depending on how you pair it with shirt and tie, it can easily take you from the boardroom to opera. Blue suits can't quite pull that off. If you have to go with just one, you're probably better off with the black.

Black first, Charcoal Grey, and Then Navy, IMO. Suits at my corporate workplace are most common in that order. The first two impart a classic and professional look even more than the navy, again, in my opinion.