What's new

Will Mergress XL handle fit Merkur 37c slant razor? Or get Muhle r41 instead?

Hello,

I'm fairly new with wet shaving since I've only used hair trimmers for the last 5 years and disposable cartridges prior. I've found this forum to be an exceptional resource. Thank you to all those who have paved my way into the world of wet-shaving.

Over the last 6 months, I have owned and given away the Parker 29L and Merkur 38c safety razors to my nephews. I currently own the Mergress XL adjustable safety razor and love the handle. While my Merkur 39c sledgehammer handle is nicer than the 37c, I would prefer the Mergress XL handle on the Merkur Slant razor instead. I also own a Feather SS Folding Handle Razor that's always used for sideburns, but I've been using this more frequently for 3-pass shaves. I've tried approximately 14 blades and have settled on Personna Med Prep and Feather ProGuard for DE and SR razors respectively; however, Kai DE and Feather Professional blades may see occasional use in the near future.

My dilemma is that I can shave quicker and better with the Merkur 39c (20-25 minutes via 39c vs. 25-30 minutes via Mergress XL vs. 20-40 minutes via Feather disposable straight-razor), but I would like to be even quicker. I've found that the Mergress XL provides a better grip when shaving ATG -- while both long handles have been great for WTG and XTG shaves.

With my current technique/skill, only 3-pass shaves are acceptable to me; occasional 2-pass shaves via the Feather shavette is okay when in a hurry (15-20 minutes). Even my Mach3 cartridge razor requires a daily 15-20 minutes for a decent shave; double-edge/straight-razor shaving only requires a shave every other day. The Parker 29L and Merkur 38c would not give a decent shave with Derby, Kai, nor Feather blades..

Due to great success with the 39c slant, I had also hoped to purchase a Muhle r41 (with a different handle) to see how this might work for me.