What's new

Why choose a straight razor over a DE?

I have been an electric guy, for a long long time. I have occaisionally used a Fusion when I wanted a better shave, but have always had issues with irritation if i used the blade very often.

I decided to dump the electric three weeks ago and started try to Learn how to shave. I discovered pre-shave oil, Hot towels and good soap & brush. I was able to shave everyday with acceptable irritation.

I got my DE on Monday and have now made the irrevocable move to blades
(parker 99r Shark blades and many other blades to try )

My shaves are getting better, my irritation is getting less and I never had to deal with nicks with the blades at all

My question is why do people move on to straight razors. I can see the attraction of the idea, but is there a reason in quality of shave or increased comfort to think about continuing journey on to straight razors?

Obviously I am a newbie, but I am loving my new ritual and both Me and my wife are enjoying the results:thumbup:

Inquiring mind wants to know

Don

I asked the same question. When I first got my straight I shaved a 1 inch patch of my thigh with my straight, then shaved a 1 inch patch with my DE.

They both were BBS but my skin looked and felt better in the straight patch.

I'm still a newbie so my facial shaves aren't really up to snuff. I'm hoping that eventually I will start getting the best shaves of my life.:thumbup1:

More fun, more rewarding, shaves that are closer, more comfortable and last longer. Yes, it is true. As good as a DE shave can be, a straight shave is superior.

I've been messing around with a few injectors (mainly cause I wanted to see what the fuss about the Personna 74 blades were), along with some SE razors the past couple weeks. I finally got bored and went back to straights which I have had been using pretty exclusively for the past 10 months or so.

After using the other razors then going back to the straight I noticed two things.