What's new

What's your Mach3 cartridge life

I have been using Gillette Mach3 cartridges for about 2 months. The current cartridge has been in use for 8 shaves with each being 2 to 2 1/2 passes. Some other cartridge have only lasted 3 or 4 shaves. That's quite a difference in Gillette's cartridge life.
What results have some of you other Mach3 users experienced?

I used to swap them out when the lubricating strip failed, usually about a week. but that was when I used just canned goo, had I been using a good soap and brush maybe I could have used them longer - if it hadn't been for the ingrowns that is.

I've never used a Mach 3. My Gillette Atra (Contour) cartridges lasted a week, in general. At least, I made it a habit to change them weekly, before they started pulling.

M3 carts were my favourite as twin carts clogged up too much and Fusion/Proglide just hung on my whiskers.

When I was using canned gel, only the first shave from a brand new M3 cart gave me what I would deem a 'good' shave though. The next 2 or 3 shaves would be acceptable but because of the cost of the carts I would endure another couple of shaves for the rest of that week and would look forward to a new cart on Monday.

The only time I use an M3 now is when I travel. But now I use it with soap and brush and get 3-4 'good' shaves before I change the blade as I refuse to push a cart and endure any more bad shaves.

Comparing M3 with DE blades, a DE blade like a Feather or Astra SP will give me 3 good shaves. But DE is not only cheaper, I no longer get ingrowns, definitely a win win.

I have had around 32 single pass daily shaves from a mach 3 cart, still sharp, run it down a leans leg, don't know if this makes any difference.

One week, one pass shaves. I have tough, coarse facial hair and I just wore out those things.

Haven't used one in years, though.

About 3 or 4 shaves. Sensor Excels last me a solid week.