What's new

what is a guy to do?

Hello shaving gurus! My name is Ryan- I'm a student from Canada, and I really need advice!

No matter what I do, I can’t seem to get a really close shave. Perhaps I should provide a bit of a description?

Firstly, I have terrible facial hair. Its sort of scraggly or patchy- only in any concentration on my upper lip, chin, and the middle of my cheeks. However, what facial hair I do have seems to be quite coarse and tough, and likes growing in every which direction.

Because it is patchy and dark in colour- I really need a smooth shave. Any stubble at all looks ridiculous in the dark patches- but the nature of the hair makes it very difficult to shave.

At present, I exfoliate my face twice a day, one in the morning and once in the evening. Before I get in the shower, I shave with a Panasonic Linear electric- which I basically mash into my cheeks, as I also have fairly uneven skin- and I can get closer this way than I can with a blade. Then I shower and wash my face while my brush is soaking, and my bowl is heating up- afterwards I shave with a Merkur Vision.

Shaving down my face (cheek to throat) seems totally ineffective, and only serves to shorten my beard so that the blade doesn’t grab so much against the grain. Then I do at least three more passes, two at a sort of a 45 degree angle against the grain in either direction, and at least one pass directly against the prevailing grain.

This procedure- which takes ages, leaves me with only a mediocre shave in the morning- and by the afternoon it looks and feels like hell. At the moment I’m shaving 2-3 times a day just to keep my face sorta smooth, and that causes quite a bit of irritation. For the record, I’ve also let my face ‘rest’, and tried only shaving once in the morning, and only with a blade. Is there anything else I can do? I’m seriously considering months of electrolysis if I can’t find a better solution.

-Ryan