What's new

What edge do you shave with now days?

What type of edge do you shave with?

• Water of Ayr, Tam O'Shanter, and the Scotch hone

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Out of curiosity, looking to see what most people are shaving with these days. Could also he helpful to new guys or someone looking for a new type of edge. If I didn't list your edge feel free to add it below. I know a lot of people here use multiple edges, but vote for the edge you use most.

Cheers

I'm still learning, so I stick with one for a while (couple of months), and then try and take what I learned and see how it works on another stone. I rotate between:

• Trans Ark
  • JNat
  • Black Shadow
I have a coticule, but I've not managed to get a decent edge off it, so I don't really bother anymore. :p

Thanks for the votes. Wanting people to vote for their most used edge instead of favorite to give better expectations for new guys. Example being someone loves a coticule edge but their coticule sucks so they use an ark or synthetic. Or the other way around and someone loves a hyper sharp edge however they need a more face friendly edge for daily shaving. So taking in all the factors, finding the most used edge (maybe it's because of convenience, feel, or reliability, blah blah).

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Diamond pasted balsa edges would be my most used. My initial SR shaving technique was developed on diamond pasted balsa edges three to four years ago and I have preferred them ever since.

All my razors either have a Coticule or Arkansas (Translucent or Black) finish. Maybe I'm alone here but while I love my Arkansas edges. If I shave with one 2-3 shaves in a row, I end up missing the Coti edge feel. The Ark finish bumps the Coti's sharpness while staying smooth, it's great. But there's just something about that Coti edge feel on the face.