What's new

Want to try a slant razor....any recommendations?

I've been using an Muhle R89 for the past 4 years and recently started using a shavette. Being a newbie to shavette shaving it does take me some time to shave. When I don't have much time I shave with my safety. I'm looking to try slant head safety razor. I know the popular one is the Merkur 37C or 39C but I was wondering if there are any others I should consider. Hopefully when I'm eligible to post in Buy Trade Sell section I can trade or sell the Muhle R89 but until then I'd love to hear anyone's slant head recommendations.

I like the Ikon slants myself. The Ikon Shavecraft 102 and Ikon X3. The X3 is more of torqued head than the 102. A little more expensive than the Merkurs, but worth it for machined aluminum heads. If you don't want to pay a lot of money, you might want to try the PAA Bakelite slants. There are two versions, the PAA OC and PAA AE (Alpha Eliptic).

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
Sometime in the fairly near future the Fatip Slant will hit the market. There are a million of us waiting for it.

upload_2018-8-8_0-4-38.jpeg

I am no kind of expert on slants, but use them sometimes and am a fan of them.

I have the iKon X3 which you can buy as just the head. It is okay, and not terribly expensive. Maybe somewhat harsh, but not terribly so. I also have the PBOC slant which is also okay; it must be used at a somewhat steep angle.

A pretty much unobtanium slant is the SS Stealth Slant by RR. I just got one though, on the BST, and will use it tomorrow. ATT makes a slant, but I've not tried it. Also, Fine makes a slant, but I've not been impressed with the reviews. There are other RR slants (not easily found) sometimes available on BST or eBay, but they tend to be very expensive sometimes. Other times there are some good deals.