What's new

Vindaloo, Hot and Sour Pork from Goa, India

I've been making this dish for many years and it's my wife's all-time favorite. It's hot, it's spicy, it's complicated, and time-consuming, but it's oh, so good! Some of the spices aren't easily found in your average supermarket, but if you can find an Indian grocery shop, you can get them very inexpensively. The recipe calls for 2-3 dried chile peppers...we like it hot, so that usually becomes 4 or 5. :w00t: Be sure to have all your ingredients measured out and ready before you start cooking.

Pork Vindaloo (Goan-style Hot and Sour Pork)
(Serves 6)
From Madhur Jaffrey’s Indian Cooking, 1982

Ingredients:
  • 2 teaspoons whole Cumin Seeds
  • 2-3 hot, dried Red Chiles
  • 1 teaspoon Black Peppercorns
  • 1 teaspoon Cardamom Seeds
  • 3-inch stick of Cinnamon
  • 1 ½ teaspoons whole Black Mustard Seeds
  • 1 teaspoon whole Fenugreek Seeds
  • 5 tablespoons White Wine Vinegar
  • 1½ - 2 teaspoons Salt
  • 1 teaspoon light Brown Sugar
  • 5 tablespoons Vegetable Oil
  • 2 medium Onions, peeled and thinly sliced into half-rings
  • 1 ½ cups Water
  • 2 pounds boneless Pork Shoulder, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1-inch cube of Ginger root, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 small whole head of Garlic, with cloves separated and peeled
  • 1 tablespoon ground Coriander Seeds
  • ½ teaspoon ground Turmeric

Preparation:
Grind cumin seeds, red chiles, peppercorns, cardamom seeds, cinnamon stick, black mustard seeds, and fenugreek seeds in a coffee or spice grinder. Put the ground spices in a bowl. Add the vinegar, salt, and sugar. Mix and set aside.