What's new

Unlocked Blackberry -Any Suggestions for Service Providers

I just received delivery of an unlocked Blackberry Bold and was planning to use Net10's Unlimited Talk, Text and Data until I read the fine print...Net10 service will not work with a Blackberry. :blush:

I am brand new to the world of unlocked phones and was hoping to tap into the collective wisdom of B&B members regarding my options. This will be a secondary cell phone used strictly for business (I have an iPhone on Verizon for my personal cell). Any suggestions?

Hi,

The Bold name was used on more than one model. You need to find the model number, then look that up on the BB website as to which modes and bands it supports. You are probably looking at a VZW or ATT unit, but have to match the model with the proper carrier or it will not work properly....

Stan

Hi,

The Bold name was used on more than one model. You need to find the model number, then look that up on the BB website as to which modes and bands it supports. You are probably looking at a VZW or ATT unit, but have to match the model with the proper carrier or it will not work properly....

Stan

I ended up getting the BB 9790 which runs on either the AT&T or T-Mobile network. Since this is a secondary cell, I was not sure if I should try a 3rd party service or just bite the bullet and go with AT&T.

I ended up getting the BB 9790 which runs on either the AT&T or T-Mobile network. Since this is a secondary cell, I was not sure if I should try a 3rd party service or just bite the bullet and go with AT&T.

Hi,

Ok. The 9790 has two sub models. One for TMUS and one for ATT. The UMTS radio bands are different, so we cannot cross that up or you will lose your high speed data. We will figure this out offline....

Stan

T-mobile coverage is very poor and I ended up biting the bullet and paid double early cancellation charges. It was worth it. They might ''check your address for coverage'', it means nothing.