What's new

Timeless .095 technique - help

Hey everyone - so recently I purchased a Timeless .095 scalloped plate SS razor. (For a bit of background, I had been using an ATT Classic H for nearly three years.) At the same time I acquired the Timeless, I also purchased an ATT Windsor H. I shave every there days on average. Blades are typically Astra SP, GSB, Pol SI, Med Blues, Perma SS.

I was getting close, efficient shaves with the ATT Classic - one pass was enough with a touch up if I were in a hurry, two passes with touch up would yield a very close, comfortable shave. I get similar results with the Windsor.

The Timeless seems a little different. While it is a smoother razor, I don’t find it to be as efficient, particularly on the first pass. I have used it about half a dozen times so far.

The question is - is it me? Does the Timeless require a different angle? Am I just used to the ATT way? Is the Timeless just not right for me? Any input from your experience would be appreciated.

Thanks.

There is something unintuitive about the Timeless SS head design for me as well. I tried using the .68 plate and couldn't really get a close shave even after 3 passes. I just ordered the .95 plate and hopefully that will work better for me.

Three years is a LOOOONG time and you’ve acquired substantial muscle memory on your equipment (a key reason I don’t recommend newbies change their set-ups too often).

Given time, you may get to the same point with the Timeless. But you may not. I desperately wanted my birthyear vintage Gillette to be “the one” but my EJ89 Barley is super-intuitive for me so I reluctantly assigned my other razors to a display case.