What's new

Time to expand a Hobby?

I'm an amateur black smith. I tinker with hammer, axe, and knife making (and garden tools, as the wife requires). I do both stock removal and forging. I have an excess of 1095, O1, D2, S7, H13, some thin sheets of spring steel (perfect for fillet knifes) and a sheet of Grade 5 Titanium (1/8" thick).

I'm thinking about creating a straight razor (probably from 1095) but wanted to poll the group to get opinions. For my first attempt, I thought I'd use stock removal to create a 7/8 (or 8/8) near wedge with a Spanish Notch and Eucalyptus Scales (as I also have plenty of that). The problem is my 1095 is only 3/8" thick and I was thinking 1/4" would be better. I have plenty of O1 (and the tool steels) at 1/4".

So, what do you think?

Can you reduce the blade's spine thickness in the 1095 to about 6mm while forging?
Sorry, I meant 3/16. But yes, I could potentially forge the 1095 as it's wide enough but upsetting thin sheets is tricky. Defiantly an option.

And I forgot to sign my posts.
Regards,
Dale

Blade.JPG

Keeping in mind that I can't keep anywhere near the tolerance, this is my rough draft. Now the biggest decision is whether to make it from 3/16" 1095 or 1/4" O1. It's a hard choice.

Regards,
Dale

A 3/16" spine on an 8/8 razor will give a bevel angle of around 11 degrees.
If you go the 1095 route I'd be more conservative with your razor size...maybe 5/8-6/8 max

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
The blade as you have designed it, would have an included bevel angle of 14.75deg if made of 3/16" thick 1095 without any upsetting. As 1095 properly tempered can hold a good edge, that's not an unacceptable bevel angle although it is tending towards the lower limit.

Remember, as this is designed, the depth for calculating the bevel angle is measured from the lower edge of the spine, not the top edge of the spine.